Job Seeker Webinar Series: November 2016 on ABR JobConnect

October 31st, 2016

webinars

Answer “Tell Me About Yourself” Like a Pro
Tuesday, November 1st @ 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST)

The answer to the question “tell me about yourself” can lead to you being eliminated or being screened in during the interview process. During this session we will address the following:

  • What employers look for in your answers
  • How to effectively format your responses
  • Great follow up replies

 Registration Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3840510931197790980

A Job Seeker’s Guide to Resume Writing: How to Create a Compelling Document that Scores Interviews
Tuesday, November 8th @ 11:00 am EST (8:00 am PST, 9:00 am MST, 10:00 am CST)

This session will provide actionable tips to job seekers old and new. Attendees will be able to implement the information in this instructional webinar to create a resume that attracts the eyes of hiring managers and scores interviews.

Registration Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4059973452102051588
Re-THINK! What You Don’t Know Could Hurt Your Next Career Move… Don’t Make These 10 Common Mistakes!
Thursday, November 17th @ 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST)
As a results coach working with thousands of job seekers, I’ve learned it’s not always the most qualified person who gets the job. In this webinar, we are going to break it down so you can learn the COMMON MISTAKES made by job seekers and more importantly how to get it right so you are a top candidate. How well do you think you are doing on your job search?

Come ready to learn and be inspired as this will give you the confidence you need to kick your job search into “high gear”.

Registration Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8216687056513771524

What Does It Take To Be Memorable?
Tuesday, November 22nd @ 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST)

In this competitive job market, there will be competition for all job opportunities. Learn how to be memorable in your written and verbal communications. During this session we will discuss the following:

  • Memorable documentation
  • Memorable telephone conversations
  • Memorable email
  • Memorable interviews
  • Memorable follow-up

Registration Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8650736863764429572

Informational Interviews Lead To Job Offers
Wednesday, November 30th @ 3:00 pm EST (12:00 pm PST, 1:00 pm MST, 2:00 pm CST)
Your job is to schedule as many interviews as possible, including informational interviews. This webinar will address the following:

  • What could be sabotaging your job search?
  • The who, what, when, where and why of informational interviews
  • Why this differentiates you from your competition

To register, visit ABR JobConnect and register on the Webinar tab.

Employee Sweepstakes Winner Andrew Novy: Free Rent and a Job

October 14th, 2016

20161013_140631

Employee Sweepstakes – $1,000 September Winner

What would you think if your supervisor asked you to come in before your shift starts or see him after it ends? That’s what happened on October 13th to Andrew Novy, who works 3rd shift in the Strings Department at Mathews Archery, Inc. through ABR Sparta.

But instead of his supervisor, Corey Knudtson wanting to see him, a posse of 10+ people from Mathews and ABR were waiting to see Andrew! Poor Andrew, he thought he was in trouble until Jen Zahari of ABR asked him, “Do you think today is your lucky day?”. An optimistic Andrew replied, ‘Yes’!

Turns out it REALLY WAS his lucky day. Not only was Andrew and his girlfriend celebrating a relationship anniversary, Andrew found out he won $1,000 in ABR’s September Free Rent and a Job! employee appreciation sweepstakes drawing! Congrats Andrew!!!

Work for ABR and you could win next! We’re now hiring for many great employers in Wisconsin and the Winona, MN area. Check out our open opportunities or refer a friend for work.

Eye Protection: Protect Those Peepers from Flying Debris

October 10th, 2016

peeper-protection

The following on eye protection and face protection was written by Safety Management Services Company. It is being shared with permission. 

Today’s Topic: Eye Protection and Face Protection
What would it be like to do your job without eyesight? When thinking about this, you will probably agree with most experts that eye protection is the most important protective gear you can wear. Yet, year after year, nine out of ten on-the-job eye injuries could have been prevented if the victim had been wearing appropriate eye protection. But, how do you know if you need eye protection? The answer is simple. You need protection if anything in your work area could fly into your eyes.

Take Responsibility
If your company provides, or recommends, a particular type of eye protection, it is most likely for good reasons–some of which are based on guidelines and experience of others in the industry. Wearing eye protection benefits both you and your company. Learn the types of first-aid that are available in case of eye injury, and where to go (swiftly) to receive first-aid. Wear the right eye protection and become a safety statistic—one of the 80,000 people who escaped eye injury in industrial accidents because you wore eye protection.

Protect Yourself from High-Impact Hazards
When we think of eye injury, we usually think of something large striking the eyes from in front—perhaps a board thrown back by a saw, falling object, or flying chunk of rock. If you are around this sort of hazard, you need high-impact protection–safety glasses or goggles with lenses of polycarbonate, the most impact-resistant material used in safety glasses. In choosing protective eyewear, remember that while goggles offer overall protection, safety glasses may be the best choice if your job requires plenty of side-vision.

High-Speed Particles
By far, the most common eye hazards, and causes of eye injury in the shop, are fast-moving, small particles, such as dust and debris from sanding, grinding, chipping, and similar operations. A fast-moving particle, smaller than a grain of sand, can cause a great deal of damage to an unprotected eye. Even relatively, slow-moving, fine particles, such as dust, can scratch the eye’s surface. When choosing safety glasses or goggles for this type of hazard, you have to weigh impact-resistance against scratch-resistance. Plastic and polycarbonate lenses are highly impact-resistant, but less scratch-resistant than glass lenses. Glass lenses will shatter on high impact, but resist scratching from dust and grit better than other lenses do. Some polycarbonate lenses are coated with a scratch-resistant surface to protect against both high-impact and fine-particle hazards.

Chemicals, Fumes, and Heat
If you are working around dangerous chemicals, you need goggles that form a snug seal around your face and have hooded ventilators or, in extreme danger, no ventilators. Such goggles need to be specially coated to prevent fogging. The best protection against heat is a face shield that covers the face and neck, and typically made of acetate or other flexible, plastic materials. Extreme heat or concentrated light may require the protection of a welding helmet. Face shields should be used with other eye protection, never alone.

Report Workplace Safety Concerns
If your job requires you to wear safety equipment while on assignment with ABR and you do not have it, report it to your supervisor or  local ABR Employment Services office immediately.