Measuring Quality of Hire in Today’s Employment Climate

May 14th, 2019

Spring 2019: ABR HR Insights Magazine

Every issue of our HR Insights Magazine focuses on themes that are relevant to our clients’ businesses. In this issue we examine:

How Do You Measure Quality of Hire in a Full Employment Economy

In this issue’s feature story, contributor Tom McGuire discusses why you should measure the quality of the talent you are hiring and how to do it. He also emphasizes that talent drives business value and, in a full employment economy, companies must be particularly in tune with their talent.

 

Three Ways Millennials Have Changed Candidate Engagement Strategy

Engagement is another issue that’s getting a lot of coverage in today’s HR circles. Contributor Allie Kelly points out that although much of the engagement talk has been focused on current employees, the way we engage with candidates needs to change. Kelly notes that millennial
candidates “want social proof that the product, service or opportunity they are interested in is legitimate and matches their desires.”

Six Ways Your Employee Experience Needs to Change

Part of building a strong relationship involves meeting the needs of everyone in it. Contributor Lilith Christiansen suggests that recruiting for retention starts with streamlining and customizing the hiring process. She stresses that starting the employment relationship on a strong foundation starts with the moment they apply for a job.

Other notable articles in this issue

  • How to Scale a Team: Vision, Values, Culture
  • First Impressions Set the Stage and Begin on Day One
  • Old School Recruiting Behaviors That Are Costing You Candidates
  • Are Employees Entitled to Bring Animals to Work?
  • Emphasizing Empathy for a Successful Candidate Experience

Great Ideas and Partnerships Begin With A Conversation

At ABR Employment Services we believe strongly in the power of connection. Let us help you determine the best ways to strengthen the connections within (and outside) your organization! Want to explore new possibilities for your company? Let us know how we can help!

May 2019 Webinars on ABR JobConnect

May 6th, 2019

Our goal is to help you achieve career success. We offer weekly free career webinars on job hunting advice. A live question and answer period is held at the end of each webinar. This provides a great forum to instantaneously receive guidance to solve job search problems you may be facing.

Our May, 2019 lineup includes:

Re-THINK: Shifting for Success In Your Job Search


Date: Tuesday, May 7th
Time: 1:00 pm EST (10:00 pm PST, 11:00 am MST, am 12:00 pm CST)

Description:
 Being in job search mode can bring up a lot of feelings that can get in the way of your success making you feel defeat and discouraged. This webinar is designed to show you how you can shift your thoughts and feelings of being upset, angry, frustrated, hopeless, burned out, or all of the above.

In this results-focused presentation, you will have the opportunity to:

  • Learn how to decide and commit to your goal of getting hired.
  • Shift from focusing on “what’s wrong” to focusing on “what works”.
  • Discover how to rise above the circumstances and take powerful action.
  • Be empowered to move through your job search activity with ease.
  • Learn how to powerfully use your time and energy starting today.

What Should Be On Your Daily Plan


Date: Thursday, May 16th
Time: 3 :00 pm EST (12:00 pm PST, 1:00 pm MST, am 2:00 pm CST)

Description:
 Individuals who are accepting job offers are often the best planners. If you are not planning out your schedule as a job seeker, you are inadvertently planning for failure and your job search will take much longer than anticipated. During this session, we will address the following:

  • Why and when you should plan
  • What should be included in your daily plan
  • Where to place your focus to get the greatest results

Don’t Burn Any Bridges


Date: Monday, May 20th
Time: 12 :00 pm EST (9:00 am PST, 10:00 am MST, am 11:00 am CST)

Description:
 You want to leave every job on a good note to help you obtain positive references and hopefully valuable referrals and recommendations throughout your career. There are things you can do even if you were terminated. During this session, we will discuss the following:

  • Six Degrees of Separation
  • Eight Basic Rules
  • What to do if you’re Terminated

Network Your Way to A New Job


Date: Wednesday, May 29th
Time: 3:00 pm EST (12:00 pm PST, 1:00 pm MST, am 2:00 pm CST)

Description: 
Networking is the number one way to find a new job. In fact according to LinkedIn, more than 82% of current job seekers find their next opportunity through their networking efforts. IT doesn’t matter whether you’re a recent grad or C-Suite Executive, networking is critical to your success. You will learn the following:

  • Networking Goals you should set
  • How and When to Network
  • How to evaluate your personal and professional network